Denmark is the new European country to ban ‘Burqa’, law to come into force from August 1

There are many countries who have imposed law on citizens not to wear ‘Burqa’ whereas there are some who have legitimately imposed that wearing ‘Burqa” is mandatory. Denmark is the latest country which has banned ‘Burqa’ on the basis of a voting. Human rights organizations are not happy with this decision. The government has imposed this law only on wearing ‘Burqa’ and it doesn’t target any religion. Turbans, Headscarves and Jewish Skull cap doesn’t come under this law and citizens are allowed to wear them. This law will come into force from 1st of August. Citizens can wear a helmet and cover their face in certain climatic conditions. Denmark is another European country after France and Austria to ban the burqa.

Image source

But what’s going against this ‘Burqa ban’ are the people supporting human rights. According to them, this takes away the freedom from women of wearing what they like. As some women who are comfortable in wearing burqas. An opposer of this law said about the Danish decision, “All women should be free to dress as they please and to wear clothing that expresses their identity or beliefs. This ban will have a particularly negative impact on Muslim women who choose to wear the niqab or burqa.”

Image source

She further said, “While some specific restrictions on the wearing of full-face veils for the purposes of public safety may be legitimate, this blanket ban is neither necessary nor proportionate and violates the rights to freedom of expression and religion.”

Image source

Violating this law will be considered as a punishable offense in Denmark after the law comes into action. Anyone found violating the law will be charged with a penalty of 1,000 Kroner and if repeated the culprit has to pay around 10,000 Kroner. The bill was introduced by the government in a voting done at parliament by a majority of 75-30 with 74 absentees.

Author: baze 2shot

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *